Ambient abstract-minimal percussion software

Discussion in 'Software' started by Skellig, Dec 28, 2022.

1. Skellig

Skellig Member

Hi folks. Looking for a software specialized in building ambient abstract-minimal percussion patterns (for Ambient related styles). I like the funcionality of Spectrasonic Stylus although is not focused in that style. I also like Slate and Ash Cycles or XLN XO.
    I am not very good at programming so I´d like to have pre existing pattterns to work with.
    Thank so much for your suggestions and support

3. Picofarad

Picofarad Member

I like Microtonic, its a versatile drum synth, and Beat Scholar also.

• Like Like x 3
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • List
  4. lxfsn

lxfsn Platinum Record

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  5. Arabian_jesus

Arabian_jesus Audiosexual

Microtonic FTW. Drumcomputer is also great, but the randomize feature in Microtonic is perfect for what you are describing. It randomizes all sounds and sequences, which is perfect for generating both original sounds and weird beats! You can ofc randomize everything in Drumcomputer as well, but for some reason it doesn't work as well for ambient/minimal stuff as the randomize in Microtonic.

6. BlackWinny

BlackWinny Platinum Record

Since 2012 I use the "New Age" pack in this collection:
    https://www.prosonic-studios.com/midi-drum-beats

This "New Age" pack contains more than 78,000 drum patterns specially made for Ambient and chill music. A plethora ! They are inspired (or directly taken) from works of Enya, Yanni, Jim Brickman, Enigma, Armik, Kitaro, George Winston, Clannad, William Ackerman, Paul Winter, Andreas Vollenweider, and many others.