AKAI S3200

Discussion in 'Soundgear' started by wasgedn, Sep 10, 2018.

  1. wasgedn

    wasgedn Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Germany
    i got mine....i got some questions and hope someone can help me...
    are these the memory...are thesefully expanded ?
    how can i check how much ram they have,i think there was 2mb and 8 mb cards available or even bigger ones?
    [​IMG]
    is this for internal hdd ?
    [​IMG]
    what for is the last one 204 ?..it has no option to out of case like the others
    [​IMG]
    wtf...here i need realy some information...its an s3200 not an s3000...whats hs and ls?
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2018
  2.  
  3. wasgedn

    wasgedn Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Germany
    the display is a changed one..so its good..thats cool...anyway negative tri axxis black display is coming one day..
    man this thing is huge in compare with my basstation1...and heavy
     
  4. n12n0

    n12n0 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    19
    "The S3200 uses custom memory Akai part #EXM3002 (2Mb card) and #EXM3008 (8Mb card). 8Mb stock (one EXM3008 installed into one memory slot ) – 4 memory slots total – can be updated to 32Mb via four 8Mb expander boards (EXM3008). You can mix any combination of EXM3002 and EXM3008. Memory is displayed in Megawords (equals 1/2 the amount of Mb). EX: 4 Megawords = 8Mb."

    for me it looks like you have 3x8 & 1x2 MB plugged right now..

    you can see this because of engineering structure...

    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  5. SineWave

    SineWave Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    1,288
    Location:
    The darkest pit of my mind
    Yes, that's a SCSI connector for the internal SCSI HD. You could get much better options for storage nowadays, like a SCSI 2 SD card adapter. :wink: They're easy to find on e-bay. I have two. :D Pair it with a 5 euro 8GB Sandisk SDHD card and it works perfectly and quietly. Mimics having 8 internal SCSI drives... :wink:

    It's been a long time since I had to open mine, but if I remember correctly P204 is occupied by an additional DSP - FX and Filter option. That's really good to have. That filter reminds me of Akai MFC42 rack filter. It's nice.
     
  6. grabme

    grabme Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    25
    I wouldnt bother with a scsi drive, far too noisy and limited. Get a Scsi2sd.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  7. jynx

    jynx Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    uk
    Evening gentlemen!
    Heh , Thas a blast from the past.
    , ,They use the same ram on them models , 3000 ,3200 ,3200xl etc.
    But i believe n12no prob answered best as i couldve atttempted..
    ,Im still rather Bias tho ,Even after all these years , Im all bout Emu e- series,.

    Just realised that i learned sumthing there... ,heh , "n12no ,i stand corrrected regardin ram compatability"
     
  8. wasgedn

    wasgedn Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Germany
    hello jinxy
    the xl uses newer ram's cheaper ones i believe(i dont mean bad ones but cheaper)...xl's are the newer generation from s3000 and s3200
    ----------------------
    thats cool bout scsi2sd...very cool to not have to solder a bus or what ever its called on to the board..s2000 is where you have to solder it i believe..
    the scsi i want for dropping stuff from xp machine i found from old renters...with recycle then....and later midi from renoise from win7

    @SineWave to you kno if team os win7 lite and ultra lite have firewire driver enabled ??on tmos site i get no response...I also tried my own lites of xp and 7 but i failed..
    it would be so great to have lite version..all this crap away...im offline...so i need actualy nothing from win 7...nearly...you get me... he he...180mb win7.. ha ha...kidding..smallest tmos ulta light was 500-700 or so but with all the net crap enabled...thats a lot of stuff...so maybe someone can hit 200-300-400 mb
    when i never want use a lan cable and im offline can i turn off all network related services...maybe some network service is needed for hooking up usb and firewire devices or sort of stuff..

    bout offline...imagine these guys on online workstation always have to click windows security pop ups ha ha...in offline godmode its all so much better..so fockn much...
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2018
  9. wasgedn

    wasgedn Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Germany
    but i have feeling this guy sold me an s3200 with s3000 os....could this be...i have chorus,pitchshifter,echo and delay...there must flanger too or ?
    --------------------
    but 3*8 mb +2 mb is schon mal good...thx so much n12no and sinewave



    to you have a fan in yours sinewave ?
    -----------------------------------

    if there are shops in LA or NY where such stuff is sold in mint condition fully expanded and maybe modded...gosh what a place...

    look at this one
    https://www.circuitbenders.co.uk/synthmod/S2000.html
    i guess the guy mods only s2000 and below cause he needed cheap training material
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2018
  10. techdevil

    techdevil Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Scotland
    Nice, Enjoy...
     
  11. wasgedn

    wasgedn Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Germany
    ---------------------
    scsi faq ultra --last updated 2003 --proper;)
    http://akaiscsifaq.digidude.net/

    akai articles/tuts
    http://troywoodfield.tripod.com/akai.html
    ------------------------------
    oh boy what would i give for a s3200 hardcover manual...:hillbilly:
    or just one floppy disk for now...damn:deep_facepalm:
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2018
  12. wasgedn

    wasgedn Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Germany
  13. wasgedn

    wasgedn Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Germany
  14. wasgedn

    wasgedn Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Germany
    nope


    EB-16 Effect Board Effektboard Sampler S2000, S3000XL, CD3000XL, MPC 2000 und MPC 2000 XL
    - Multi Effects Prozessor

    - 2 Multi- und 4 Reverb-Effekte gleichzeitig
    - für FX und RV je 50 überschreibbare Presets, speicherbar in Effects Files

    FX1 und FX2 sind Multi-Effekt-Ketten und bieten folgende Effekte:

    - Distortion
    - 4-band filter
    - Ring Modulation
    - Phaser
    - Flanger
    - Chorus
    - Rotary Speaker
    - Auto Pan
    - Frequency Modulation
    - Pitch Shifter
    - Pitch Shifter and Feedback
    - Detune
    - Delay/Echo: Mono L, Mono L+R, X-Over L&R, Stereo

    RV1, RV2, RV3 und RV4 sind REVERB-Effekte:

    - Large Hall
    - Small Hall
    - Large Room
    - Small Room
    - Reverse
    - Gated

    Mehr Infos in den Handbüchern der jeweiligen Sampler.

    UVP von Akai im März 2002: EUR 588,-
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    damn in japan they have an s3000xl fully loaded for undr 300
    Akai EB16 'SampleVerb' 4x50 effects board
    Akai FMX008 8MB Non-Volatile Flash ROM
    Akai IB304f 'ProFilter' filter board
    Akai MESA editor
    Akai OS v2.0
    Akai SHD524 524MB 2.5" SCSI Hard Disk
    this cant be true....this in mint and black display you can sell for 1000 bucks
     
  15. wasgedn

    wasgedn Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Germany


    Code:
    Setup: S3200 & PC with SCSI
    From: lollyG
    
    I have managed to figure out EXACTLY how to
    achieve SCSI transfer between the PC and the
    S3200 and I would like other S3000 series
    owners to benefit from this...
    
    BTW - you have to have a zip-drive in the
    middle of the SCSI chain (between the sampler
    and the PC)
    
    Steps:
    
    1.  Disable the windows adaptec driver - (if installed)
    2.  Insert the dos driver into a folder - say c:/Aspi
    3.  Insert the following into config.sys
    
        DEVICE=C:\Aspi\ASPIxDOS.SYS
    
        (where 'x' is the right number for your SCSI card)
        and -
    
        DEVICE=C:\ASPI\ASPIDISK.SYS
    
        (only if you want a DOS removable media mounted)
    
    
    ...if you want to add a SCSI ZIP DRIVE into the middle
    of the chain
    
    4.  Rename the file - "wnaspi.dll" to "winaspi.old"
        This effectively disables it.
    
        Note:
    
        Apix.vxd - (in IOSUBSYS) is needed and can be left as is.
        Winaspi32.dll (in windows/system) is also needed, so also
        leave this as is.
    
    5.  Shutdown the PC.
    
    6.  Boot-up the sampler fully -
         In the MIDI/SCSI page, set SCSI via MIDI ON and set the local ID
         to a suitable number - (ie not the same as any other SCSI device)
         (eg: ID 3).
    
    7.  Set the remote ID to the same ID number as your PC
        SCSI host adaptor (usually ID 7).
    
    8.  Bootup the sampler
        If you have firmware v1.5
        or 1.67 in your sampler - you will notice that
        in the initial SCSI bios scan - the sampler's
        device ID appears to have a C & a smiling face
        symbol - this is normal.
    
        OR,
    
        If you have v2.0 in the sampler the associated
        ID will register - device not available -
        This is also normal.
    
    6.  Try recycle!!
    
    
    regards,
    
    Laurence Graham
    
    
    
     
  16. wasgedn

    wasgedn Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Germany
    told you im in the tunnel now...

    peace
     
  17. wasgedn

    wasgedn Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Germany
    thx a lot krock for upping AKAI stuff on aunts site....thats what warez are most legitimate for...to preserve...
    fck abandon ware...fck update craziness
     
  18. wasgedn

    wasgedn Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Germany
    how much mb need a longer basspatch in hardware samplers.....??
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2018
  19. LA-SCIMMIA-BEAT

    LA-SCIMMIA-BEAT Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    rome
    #AKAINEVERDIE
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
Loading...
Similar Threads - AKAI S3200 Forum Date
Akai MPC 2 DAW now supports 3 party controllers (Maschine, Push, Launchpad) DAW Aug 19, 2018
AKAI isos from PHOTONE Software May 26, 2018
PC software to read and convert old AKAI S-900 CDs Software May 17, 2018
AKAI MPC Software, now Available to Everyone Samplers Apr 18, 2018
Ableton push 2 & Akai apc40 mkII Computer Hardware Mar 25, 2018
Loading...