AKAI Format

Discussion in 'Samplers' started by coil, Jun 2, 2013.

  1. coil

    coil Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    So some of the Spectrasonics d/ls on here are in Akai format, with bin files, and I can't for the life of me open them. I've tried Poweriso, Alcohol 120%, Daemon Tools, Virtual CloneDrive, nothing works. I can mount them but they won't open to reveal the files. I'm on Windows 7 64-bit.
    Thanks
     
  2.  
  3. The-RoBoT

    The-RoBoT Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    311
    Location:
    Plan 9
    AKAI Format can be imported or converted by Kontakt etc etc​

    Also this below​

     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  4. SillySausage

    SillySausage Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,559
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    where ever
    with bin files, there should be a cue file which is what you click to open the bin, have to tried using winrar? I think that can open bin files
     
  5. phloopy

    phloopy Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,585
    Likes Received:
    809
    @ SirSillySausage

    You cannot open anything on a mac/pc (bin or not!)when it comes to AKAI-format!!!

    You need a converter because these AKAI CDs original were made for analog samples! A good choice could be (already said by The-Robot) using Kontakt!
     
  6. Me2audio

    Me2audio Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    2
    Chicken Systems TRanslator, Wlodzimierz Grabowski Extreme Sample Converter will do the job as well as the other listed by
    The-RoBoT
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  7. coil

    coil Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Some of those programs, like CDXtractor won't work on a 64-bit system, and I can't use Kontakt to convert until I actually get the files/samples extracted from the bin file. Maybe I'll try one of these other programs mentioned.
     
  8. coil

    coil Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Winrar and PowerIso won't open the bin or cue files.
     
  9. Alraun

    Alraun Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    9
    The ending "bin" stands for many different file formates, what sometimes leads to confusion, because one bin can be opened with common archivers,
    while the other one can' t.

    If it is a CD-Image with common audio content like f.e. wave files, you can open the bin and extract the content with WinRar or UltraIso, as SirSillySausage said.

    If it contains AKAi data, then you need the more special apps like f.e. Kontakt, FruityLoops, Reason, VirtualSampler, CDXtract, as all the other guys said here.

    Some people suggest to use AKAI files just as they are, instead of converting the data, because of it's special formate attributes.
    I've heard that conversion might end up in less good results.

    I myself have converted AKAi data some years ago, and was not convinced of the quality that time, but the possibilities might have changed since then.
     
  10. The-RoBoT

    The-RoBoT Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    311
    Location:
    Plan 9
    Ok 1st thing is you need to know your tools, i've been using Kontakt to convert them for 6 years read the manual, 2nd CDXtractor works on 64bit systems.

    3rd and the important part : You will never see the files on the desktop etc because they are in a hidden raw partition (a bit more technical than that but i won't go into the geeky stuff) either import them or convert them, again read the manuals.


    Below is info from ILIO the people who wrote the lib for spectrasonics

    Q. How do I convert Akai CD-ROMs into Native Instruments’ Kontakt?
    1. In the upper pane of the File Browser, locate and select a container object that contains a number of programs to be converted. This can be a folder, a monolith (like a GigaStudio .gig file), or a volume (like an AKAI S-1000/S-3000 CD).

    2. Click on the button labeled Import at the top of the File Browser. A pop-up dialog will ap- pear asking you to specify destination folders for the converted Instrument and Samples.

    3. Specify suitable destination folders by clicking on the Choose buttons and locating them via the file selector.

    4. Once the destination folders are set correctly, click on Convert to start the import process. Depending on the size of the imported set, this might take a while.

    5. Once the process has finished, the status window will disappear. You can now navigate tothe folder you've specified in the File Browser and access your library in KONTAKT format.
     
  11. coil

    coil Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm sure Kontakt is spectacular at converting files that are in the Akai format, but it's not too swell at extracting those files from a .bin, in fact if you click on a folder that has a .bin in it in the Kontakt browser, that file doesn't even show up.
     
  12. danfuerth

    danfuerth Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    19
    Give ISObuster a try.

    opens dozens of cd and dvd images.
     
  13. Catalyst

    Catalyst Audiosexual

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    636
    Mount it with one of the programs you listed and see if Kontakt can see the files. You should be able to import them through that application. If there is an issue with the bin itself try one of the other applications that our members have already suggested. If I were you I would try mounting it with Alcohol 120% and see if Kontakt can see them first though. Good luck.
     
  14. SillySausage

    SillySausage Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,559
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    where ever
    Ok thats a new bin file type for me, just used kontackt 5.1 and used batch convert with Akai File, as per The-RoBoT's instructions, works fine

    [​IMG]


    once batch has finished, you should have 2 folders, folder 1 has nki files and folder 2 the wav files
     
  15. The-RoBoT

    The-RoBoT Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    311
    Location:
    Plan 9
    Coil I can mount them but they won't open to reveal the files

    The-RoBoT 3rd and the important part : You will never see the files on the desktop etc because they are in a hidden raw partition (a bit more technical than that but i won't go into the geeky stuff) either import them or convert them, again read the manuals.

    Coil I'm sure Kontakt is spectacular at converting files that are in the Akai format, but it's not too swell at extracting those files from a .bin, in fact if you click on a folder that has a .bin in it in the Kontakt browser, that file doesn't even show up.

    Just remember if Kontakt or any suggested app isn't your 1st choice then maybe more information supplied by you may help us, you should double check what has been said from myself and other users.​

    Goodluck :wink:
     
  16. Alraun

    Alraun Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    9
    I am really interested, what's going on here and did some tries....
    We neither offer warez nor do we link to warez in this topic, so let's speak more cleartext now:

    "Distorted Reality" contains tao and iso images. All of them can be successfully mounted and converted with CDXtract !

    "European Folkmusic Bundle" meanwhile contains 2 bin/cue images. I was able to mount them on windows with UltraIso a.o..
    But i can't take a look at the content. UltraIso says, the bin is corrupted.
    CDXtract and other softwares can naturally mount these images too, but the content doesn't show up as well. :snuffy:
    No content conversion possible. I guess that's the image you have trouble with !?

    I went back to Mac and was able to mount the bin/cue with Roxio Toast and to look at the content.
    Though we have the .cue, there is just one .aiff track showing up and one invisible file named ".TOC.plist", what means that this bin/cue must
    have been created with mac. I tried at first different image conversions: toast, iso, bin. Same results.
    Afterwards i tried content conversions on Mac with different softwares. No success.

    Catalyst, Kontakt doesn't show up these bin's.
    When the bin's are mounted with another software, Kontakt shows just one single aiff, which can't be used or converted. :(

    Well....it really seems that the image content is somehow corrupted. The win softwares which can deal with AKAI, can't even give you a look at the content of the mounted images.
    Sorry coil, i gave it up for the moment. :dunno:
    I am really curious, if someone of the likeable guys here has any other idea how to deal with this - otherwise: let it go.
    We have enough other (and not so old) stuff, we can work with. *yes*
     
  17. wasgedn

    wasgedn Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Germany
    can someone share his tactics to convert rutra akai iso's to AKAI format....for dumping akai format to HFE format...
    i managed to do this for one wav e.g. but i want to do a folder like partition A in right size and dump it to hfe
    -----------------------------
    BTW thx ROBOT.....but cdextract only converts in akai s5/6000 and mpc format...not the s1000 and s3000 akai format...air translator does....but i guess i need translator 6 for doing the mentioned above
    ------------------------------
    @SineWave ...how is youre sd structured...do you dump whole akai cd through scsi through sampler onto sd card...i guess thats where the true benefit lies for sd cards...at usb emu i have several 3,86 MB hfe images...can not dumb whole iso or cd on one floppy disk...lol...stupid fck....should think before , but its brain overload when not working slowly into it......EDIT but its so simple scsi2sd is hdd...and floppy emu is just floppy emu...damn
    -------------------
    has somebody experience in doing a copy and doing copy to hd of akai floppy disks ? maybe without omniflop...
    e.g i got og akai workstation floppy disk i want to preserve
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2018
  18. wasgedn

    wasgedn Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Germany
    :woot:wtf live 8 can import akai format
     
  19. wasgedn

    wasgedn Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Germany
    bout akai iso's:
    at moment i have the guess...convert iso to mesa/wav in cdextract....open up mesa ....open up partitions in mesa..dump from mesa into sampler memory via scsi... dump from memory into usb emu hfe
    could my way to go at moment...lol

    but i have the thought translator 6 is best way maybe....
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2018
  20. wasgedn

    wasgedn Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Germany
    btw 2018
    Code:
    CDXtract 4 does not run on Mac Intel, we are currently working on a new version that will work on all of the new Operating Systems. 
     
  21. wasgedn

    wasgedn Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Germany
    @
    [​IMG]
    The-RoBoT

    do you only use kontakt , no hardware samplers anymore a long time ??
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - AKAI Format Forum Date
AKAI MPK 88 with Live 10(Solved) Soundgear Oct 8, 2018
AKAI S3200 MANUAL DEUTSCH german DE Oct 5, 2018
AKAI S3200 Soundgear Sep 10, 2018
Akai MPC 2 DAW now supports 3 party controllers (Maschine, Push, Launchpad) DAW Aug 19, 2018
AKAI isos from PHOTONE Software May 26, 2018
Loading...