Advice regarding upgrading

Discussion in 'PC' started by Kev Willow, Nov 24, 2020.

1. Kev Willow

Kev Willow Newbie

Alright everyone,
    This is sort of 2 questions in one so any advice you could give me with either of them i would appreciate.

So i've got a Scan 3XS laptop (i7-4710MQ - 16gb RAM - Windows 7) that i've been using for 6 years, lately (i'd say the last year or so) when i'm loading projects up, it just can't handle it, i'm getting spikes everywhere when using certain plugins, (meaning i have to bounce out audio which is a pain) or even projects that don't have many plugins, it'll start spiking and going all stuttery and glitchy on me. So my first question relating to this is that i'm currently running Windows 7, Do you think i'd be able to upgrade to windows 10 smoothly (like all my plugins running as they do now etc..) I feel like one of the issues i could be facing may be that because i'm still on Windows 7 some of the VST's aren't running as efficiently as they could. So i just want to try and upgrade to Windows 10 without losing everything (or cocking stuff up!) Any advice on this would be appreciated as i'm really unsure.

My other question was for advice regarding upgrading my actual system, as i mentioned above i've had this laptop for about 6 years now and i think i'm due an upgrade but i really don't understand like what i should be looking out for (like what sort of processors i should be looking into) My plan is to get a desktop and then use this laptop as my "on the road" studio when i'm working away from home.

Any advice would be appreciated because as you can tell, i'm a bit clueless!

3. JK543

JK543 Newbie

It seems that it is a computer loaded with an old Windows 7,if it is forced to upgrade to Windows 10,it is estimated that it will fail (actually I have not done an upgrade from an old Windows 7 to Windows),but about Windows upgrade,this is recommendations from my colleagues.

Last edited: Apr 9, 2021
  4. Smoove Grooves