adding .omnisphere soundbank freezes omnisphere [SOLVED]

Discussion in 'Omnisphere' started by jackslab27, Jun 8, 2020.

  1. jackslab27

    jackslab27 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2019
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    13
    hey guys,

    when I try to add .omnisphere soundbanks omnisphere stops responding. it doesnt even let me select the soundbank, just freezes after I click „add .omnisphere“ in menu. there is a little dialogue first to only add soundbanks you own the license to, I click ok, then rainbow-wheel and stops responding.

    im on osx mojave, omnisphere on latest updates that were just released on sister site, all is working perfectly otherwise..

    anyone else have this problem, is there a fix? did a quick google but couldnt find anything.

    thanks

     
  2.  
  3. DoubleTake

    DoubleTake Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,231
    Likes Received:
    662
    I am on Windows, but it may be of interest as far as OS detecting a lack of response in the Omnisphere....
    When I install some banks it will take a minute or two to finish.
    If i happen to click on the window when it is installing sometimes Windows will pop-up a "Program is not responding" box.
    I just close that and let it continue and so far it has always finished.
    BUT, the fact that the OS detects that it is not responding might be a clue about CPU or memory or those tech things.
    Thinking that maybe it really HAS stopped responding, but on my system it "recovers" and on yours it doesn't...
    And then the implications of "Why?" and "why not?")

    Hopefully someone has some real info on this, but one info might help:
    Does this happen in Stand-alone or within a DAW or both?
    (And of course... if it is only within DAW, WHICH DAW? )
     
  4. Lois Lane

    Lois Lane Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    1,847
    Location:
    Someplace Over The Rainbow
    In my experience, adding a soundbank to Omnisphere can take a considerable amount of time, the more so the larger the bank. Though never actually grabbing a stopwatch and measuring the span of the wait, I venture that it might swallow a good three to four minutes for a larger muliti hundred sizer to thirty seconds for a very small 30 meg bank.

    Watch this the next time you need to add a bank, it might or not be apropos if it is only just a waiting game and not a snotty computer software issue..."In a world where people have problems....

     
  5. Sunflex

    Sunflex Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answer
    Delete the "User Settings.xml" file in "/STEAM/Omnisphere/Defaults". Close the software before, of course.
    After you deleted it, restart Omnisphere and try adding you soundbank again.
     
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  6. CrankHank

    CrankHank Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    6
    @Sunflex

    thank you very much! problem solved.
     
  7. DoubleTake

    DoubleTake Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,231
    Likes Received:
    662
    Awesome! You can mark his answer as "Best Answer" :yes:
    I forget if you can edit the title to add "[solved]" ..I think so
     
  8. CrankHank

    CrankHank Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    6
    I really would like to do so, but sorry, I didn’t find that option for best answer.
     
  9. DoubleTake

    DoubleTake Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,231
    Likes Received:
    662
    My mistake ... I think until you have a certain few number of posts, it may not show.
    No big deal :)
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 2
    • List
  10. Sunflex

    Sunflex Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm glad I was able to help you :)
     
  11. jackslab27

    jackslab27 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2019
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    13
    thank you very much, that solves it for me also, great! (was away for a bit, sorry for the late reaction)
     
  12. jackslab27

    jackslab27 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2019
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    13
    you can only do this if you're the author of the thread of course...
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - adding omnisphere soundbank Forum Date
Adding Omnisphere libraries Software Apr 16, 2018
Adding libraries to Kontakt 6.5 in Catalina Mac / Hackintosh Feb 8, 2021
Adding a library to Kontakt 6.5.0 (fixed) Software Feb 4, 2021
Adding kontakt libraries to other libraries Working with Sound Jan 27, 2021
What am i doing wrong...adding libraries with Kontakted Kontakt Dec 11, 2020
Loading...