Adding Libraries to Kontakt 6 does not work

Discussion in 'Kontakt' started by Torx8, Sep 22, 2020.

  1. Torx8

    Torx8 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I don't know what to do... I've read every thread about problems in regards to that topic, but I still could not fix it :suicide:

    So for some reason the libraries I added in Kontakt 5.6.0 standalone are not shown in Kontakt 6.2.0. I did not change the .nicnt files in the library because they previously worked for many years in the Kontakt 5 AU. Btw I'm on Catalina 10.15.6 and my DAW is Logic Pro X 10.4.8.

    There are libraries showing up in Kontakt 6 automatically, but those are not all of my libraries.
    I tried creating an .xml file for them.
    First I added the .xml file to: Macintosh HD/ Library/ Application Support / Native Instruments / Service Center, which I read somewhere, was wrong. So then I tried to add it to: User/ Library/ Application Support / Native Instruments / Service Center, which is supposed to be the correct one according to another thread. Although this folder is empty and the other .xml files from the libraries that got added (and are shown in Native Access) are in the Service Center folder from Macintosh HD/ rather than Users/. Both ways it didn't work. .xml and .nicnt match SNPID numbers and I don't think that there is any overlapping going on since everything worked fine previously with a wayyyy older version of K5.

    I have Native Access installed and it recognised some libraries that actually got added to K6. But every other library that is not showing up, is not being added to K6 when I add the library in 5.6.0 standalone.
    I have Native Access cause I'm using the Maschine and some other stuff with original serial numbers.

    I am super lost and extremely desperate... Can someone please help me? I have no idea what else I could try.
     
  2.  
  3. spyo97

    spyo97 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don’t mean to hijack your thread, but I actually posted the exact same thing not too long ago. My problem is all NKS based libraries not showing up, but maybe ours are similar. Right now I can’t see a solution other than completely reinstalling the libraries, and if that works for me or if I figure anything else out, I’ll let you know! And if you have any suggestions that I might not have thought of please share
     
  4. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    2,968
    Likes Received:
    1,070
    So this was all alright before Catalina?
    Incorrect regards second path that was mentioned; NOT in User/Library. But main Library.
    ie. Library/Application Support/Native Instruments/Service Center
    Try that.
    Any other problems, make sure folder is Readable.
     
  5. iphobbes

    iphobbes Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    14
    This happened to me 5 days back , i fixed it.

    Possibly:

    Native access was used by you recently and the folder permissions were changed ,
    this can also help if you notice an sc3.temp file automatically created on user desktop.

    it's just that you as a user don't have the rights\permission to add the newly made .xml to Service Center Folder.

    On a mac all you have to do is change Service Center folder permissions and add yourself as read and write owner.

    on my mac i changed it mac HD>Library>Application Support>Native Instruments>service center

    Then sc3.temp is never created on desktop, and the added library shows up on Kontakt 5 and Kontakt 6

    hope it helps.
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2020
  6. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    2,968
    Likes Received:
    1,070
    @iphobbes
    You failed to read this, which are both incorrect:
     
  7. iphobbes

    iphobbes Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    14
    Hi , Smoove Grooves,

    In my case
    mac HD>Library>Application Support>Native Instruments>service center

    This is where i had to change the permission
    from Read Only to Read and write

    And everything worked perfectly , so this path was correct for me on macos mojave



    upload_2020-10-5_14-49-10.png
    upload_2020-10-5_14-51-3.png
     
  8. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    2,968
    Likes Received:
    1,070
    Hi @iphobbes
    There is a Service Center folder there too, and it will work now you are using it.
    Only correct now because you have made it so.
    The original, correct place for the last 14 years for me has been Library/Application Support/Native Instruments/Service Center.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Adding Libraries Kontakt Forum Date
Kontakt 6 & 5.6.0 not adding libraries Kontakt Oct 2, 2020
Need some help adding libraries in Kontakt Kontakt Jul 7, 2019
Adding Libraries in Kontakt (I know, I know...) Kontakt Feb 13, 2019
Newer cracked Kontakt not adding libraries on Mac Kontakt Jan 26, 2019
Problem adding libraries in Kontakt Kontakt Dec 3, 2018
Loading...