Active Members Only: All Mac related Problems with Kontakt

Discussion in 'Kontakt' started by Introninja, Jan 14, 2014.

  1. Introninja

    Introninja Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,539
    Likes Received:
    808
    Location:
    Location Location
    Welcome, we know why your here so let's begin

    [​IMG]

    1.

    .plist files Causes Most issues on Macs the same like the PC registry Keys does on Windows. Let's Review From Users Experiences:
    ==================================================================================
    2.

    Question:
    One of my KONTAKT Libraries keeps disappearing from the Library tab
    In some special cases, KONTAKT libraries may disappear from the Library tab after restarting KONTAKT. To resolve this issue follow the steps below:

    Answer:

    Navigate to the following folder:
    Mac OS: Macintosh HD > Library > Application Support > Native Instruments > Service Center


    Delete the "Productname.xml" file belonging to the KONTAKT library, which disappears from the Library tab.
    Launch KONTAKT 5 and add the library again to the Library tab.
    ==============================================================================
    3.

    Q: When I add a Library or try to use Quick load i get:
    "This patch is encrypted and cannot be loaded unless the respective library is registered properly"

    A: Delete the following Locations, These are the locations Kontakt 5 has On a MAC!!!!

    - Users/Name/Library/Saved Application State/com.native-instruments.Kontakt 5.savedState
    Macintosh HD > Applications > Native Instruments > *Product Name* (folder)
    Macintosh HD > Library > Preferences > com.native-instruments.*Product Name*.plist
    Macintosh HD > Library > Preferences >com.native-instruments.Content.plist
    Macintosh HD > Library > Application Support > Native Instruments > *Product Name* (folder)
    Macintosh HD > Users > *Your User Name* > Library > Preferences > com.native-instruments.*Product Name*.plist
    /Library/Application Support/Native Instruments/Service Center

    B.
    Remove the xml files of the k'd libs you want to use from
    and trash the Service Center plist, Kontakt 5 plist and all other plists related to items you want to see gone from the Service Center.
    If that doesn't work, you might have to trash the Service Center folder mentioned above, trash
    the Service Center app and its plist, and all plists related to stuff you want to see removed from
    the Service Center. reinstall Kontakt 5 with a fix Full Version

    C.
    Download an app like EasyFind and use it to search your disk for terms like 'Big Fish', 'BigFish', or 'London'(the name of the library).
    It might turn up something.
    You could also go hunting in the various Cache folders, or in Application Support, or in Preferences,
    or in Application, or in Plugins for leftovers.
    /Library/Application Support/
    ~/Library/Application Support/
    /Library/Preferences/
    ~/Library/Preferences/
    /Library/Caches/
    /System/Library/Caches/
    ~/Library/Caches/
    ===========================================================================
    4.

    Repairing User Permissions in OS X Lion, Mountain Lion, and Beyond

    You’ll need to reboot to perform this, and then use the same resetpassword utility that is used to change passwords in Lion, but instead choosing a hidden option.
    When you use the Disk Utility app and Repair Permissions — it doesn’t actually repair the permission settings on folders and files in your Home folder where your documents and personal applications reside.
    In the newest versions of OS X, there is an additional Repair Permissions application utility hidden away. This tool is located inside boot Repair Utilities. Here’s how to access it.

    Restart OS X and hold down the Command and R keys.
    You will boot into the Repair Utilities screen. On top, in the Menu Bar click the Utilities item then select Terminal.

    In the Terminal window, type “resetpassword” (without the quotes) and hit Return.

    The Password reset utility launches, but you’re not going to reset the password. Instead, click on the icon for your Mac’s hard drive at the top. From the drop-down below it, select the user account where you are having issues.

    At the bottom of the window, you’ll see an area labeled ‘Reset Home Directory Permissions and ACLs’. Click the Reset button there.

    The reset process takes a couple of minutes. When it’s done, quit the programs you’ve opened and restart your Mac. Notice that ‘Spotlight’ starts re-indexing immediately.

    Great tip, thanks for sending this in Tony R!

    Update: This works in OS X 10.7 Lion, and 10.8 Mountain Lion, and newer.

    You can check and repair access permissions on your Mac OS hard drives with the Disk Utility which is pre-installed on every Mac OS X system.

    Open the Disk Utility from the following directory: Applications > Utilities > Disk Utility

    Select your system boot volume on the left. Then open the First Aid tab on the right and click the button Repair Disk Permissions

    If you are running Mac OS 10.9 (Mavericks) it is necessary to restart your computer after deleting the above-mentioned files to make the changes permanent.

    Note: On newer Mac OS computers where 10.7 (Lion) or a later version is installed, the User Library folder is hidden. To access it, click on the task bar entry Go and press down the Alt key. The Library entry will become visible in the drop-down menu and can now be selected.
    ================================================================================
    5.
    Hey Guys,
    I have some info that might be useful...
    I had been working on a Macbook Pro 2008 and had all my Kontakt libraries working well. They are installed on an external FW Disc.
    1 week ago or so, I got a new Macbook Pro 2011 with Lion-pre installed.
    I tried to use Kontakt (32bit), but it showed the problem in question: it didn't recall my Libraries after quitting.
    After 1 full day of trying different stuff with no luck, I started comparing files between my Old Macbook Pro and the new one.
    I ended up taking all the Kontakt preferences (com.native-instruments. BLAH BLAH) from Library/Preferences on my old Macbook Pro and putting them into the new one, replacing the ones that were already there.
    Voila! Now it's working fine.
    So now you know the problem resides on the preferences at Macintosh HD/Library/Preferences.
    Hope this will help, it was driving me nuts.
    =============================================================================
    6.
    Well it's definitely something to do with security permissions between Kontakt and OSX (both SL and Lion).
    If I manually edit the file "com.native-instruments.Content.plist" and add in strings for each library and save it manually - miraculously the library now appears - although it still doesn't register where the content is and I have to manually find it each time. I guess there is another file that needs to be modified too that will point to the library content. I also have to enter my password each time to allow OSX to overwrite the existing file but at least we seem to be pinpointing the issue

    Thanks to all the users with tips & Support Hopefully this can make MAC Users Sleep at night :hug:

    Introninja Warning Tip: :excl:
    Try each step because one might just work for you.. Word of advice when you add libraries to Kontakt make sure there's no custom wallpaper or .nicnt with a official Kontakt Player library until you add the library in Kontakt. By then you add the custom wallpaper. Heed this warning and skip a headache..Many users have been fallen in this trap
    Example:
    Sample Logic Virtual Ensemble Trilogy is an official Kontakt Player Library - Don't change a thing, but you can add a custom wallpaper after you added the library to kontakt

    Sample Logic Thunder Springs is not an official Kontakt Library(Third-Party) - As long as your nicnt doesn't clash with other SNPID or k2lib numbers your good to go!!!


    Sorry guys, don't want to be party breaker, Introninja did incredible job as always and we should be thankful for that, I am because he become vital part of this community and I really appreciate everything he is doing for us, but this thread is sticky for a reason, it's here to stay and it should be really on topic and focused as much as possible, if you really want to thank him (besides usual thanks option) you can always drop him PM and give him piece of your heart, but let's leave this for problems and solutions, so in years that come we have everything here, people should find their answers quickly and all the main problems solved on first page at least, that would be incredible, so sorry again, I hope you understand :mates:

    Xsze
     
    • Like Like x 7
    • Useful Useful x 2
    • List
  2.  
  3. ovalf

    ovalf Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    216
    Location:
    Brazil
    thanks!
    I used to have 300 wallpapers with kontakt but it was painfull to keep all working each new version of kontakt or when a encripted lib conflits with an address of a custom one. Today only encripted on libs tab and I only use finder to navegate.
    Really a pain in the ass the way that kontakt deals with libs, the worst too is the old libs...
    Hugs from Brazil :mates:
     
  4. wonder

    wonder Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    I'm trying to install Acoustic Legends. Where does the EC_PLUGIN.BUNDLE file go? I'm on MAC OS 10.6.8.

    ANY help is appreciated!
     
  5. Introninja

    Introninja Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,539
    Likes Received:
    808
    Location:
    Location Location
    Check your PM, Thanks

    Problem has been resolved
     
  6. haraldhammer

    haraldhammer Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a problem with loading Albion III Iceni kontakt library. It says "the patch is encrypted..."

    Already tried deleting all xml and plist files but it's still encrypted. nicnt file IS there. Help would be very much appreciated! :bow:

    Thanks in Advance!

    hh
     
  7. Introninja

    Introninja Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,539
    Likes Received:
    808
    Location:
    Location Location
    Check your PM


    Problem has been resolved
     
  8. beaucarty

    beaucarty Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Paris - France
    Wow, Thanx Kontakt guru, I discover new informations and tricks for Mac users...you make my day! :wink:
     
  9. haraldhammer

    haraldhammer Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kontakt Guru is the chief master !! :mates:
     
  10. Rolma

    Rolma Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    136
    this thread is so useful that it can be turned into an A to Z guide with glossary and alphabetical entry order
    :bow:
     
  11. jaeger

    jaeger Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey! new to the community, i have the same issue as Harald about the Iceni library..can you please PM me the solution? it would be greatly appreciated :D
    Thanksss!!
     
  12. Introninja

    Introninja Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,539
    Likes Received:
    808
    Location:
    Location Location
    Pm Sent
     
  13. jaeger

    jaeger Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks :) please check your pm's, something went wrong :-/
     
  14. Introninja

    Introninja Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,539
    Likes Received:
    808
    Location:
    Location Location
    Sorry that was weird??? Check your PM again thank You :wink:
     
  15. jaeger

    jaeger Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a lot!! Problem completely solved ;)
     
  16. Introninja

    Introninja Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,539
    Likes Received:
    808
    Location:
    Location Location
    No Problem..I'll send you the bill :rofl:
     
  17. unityg

    unityg Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried all things in the list above and still I can not get Cinebras to work. I have the correct K version of Kontakt It always says it needs to be authorized. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  18. Introninja

    Introninja Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,539
    Likes Received:
    808
    Location:
    Location Location
    which version of cinebrass???Pro / Core
    Please Check your PM
     
  19. TwistedCycles

    TwistedCycles Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hey,

    This time, i think i need help,

    i tried deleted the . plist files but nothing more happens,

    It's about Abbey Road 60's,70's, 80's drums DYNAMICS release from the site you know all, i think it's normal that i can't find .nkx file and so that i can't add a library tab but i can't even load the instrument manually since i get the message " the patch is encrypted etc... "

    It seems people have no problem with these libraries, i can't find any similar problem.

    What could i do please ?

    Thanks so much,

    i use OSX Mavericks from few days (shit slowing down my computer..) , k'ed Kontakt Player 5.3 which works fine for my several libraries
     
  20. Introninja

    Introninja Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,539
    Likes Received:
    808
    Location:
    Location Location
    you definitely need those nkx & nkr files for those libraries to work properly
    Check your PM for more info
     
  21. jazzlito

    jazzlito Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everybody,

    I just installed Kontakt 5 Factory Library. I now have Kontakt 4 library AND Kontakt 5 Library in the "shared" folder.

    I thought I could remove Kontakt 4 library, but I see that Kontakt 5 Library will work only if I keep both libraries.

    Is that normal?


    (Kontakt 5.0.3, OSX 10.9.2)
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Active Members related Forum Date
(For active members only) Nuraphone hands-on review Soundgear Apr 3, 2018
Active members only - 3 MONTH uploaded coupon UL.to Coupons May 11, 2015
Active Members ONLY. Uploaded.to 48hrs Coupon UL.to Coupons Jan 7, 2015
Active Members Only: Kontakt Problems with Windows? Please Post Here!!! Kontakt Jan 23, 2014
Topo - Teatris Show 056,Active Brand 100,Mcast 109 DJ Mixsets Aug 29, 2018
Loading...