ableton live patch io question

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by John Poo, Mar 23, 2016.

1. John Poo

John Poo Newbie

hi

hope i don't get slaughtered for this question as i'm a noob and am just curious.

i wanted to try out ableton so i downloaded the latest version and the patch io crack.

after looking around a tiny bit i found the patch io crack drops two files and without these won't function. bassmod.dll and dup2patcher.dll. a small amount of research in dup2 tells me that the file is known by some as malware, a hidden bitcoin miner.

any thoughts on this, am i just completely wrong here? i trust a lot of cracked software but idk something doesn't feel right to me here... guess somebody smarter than me would have noticed already if something was wrong with this crack but still i felt like asking for some opinions as i've found no discussion about this.
    again please don't slaughter me for asking a question there's no point i'm just curious.

• Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  3. sisyphus

sisyphus Rock Star

really?

4. John Poo

John Poo Newbie

Yes REALLY. Why don't you enlighten me with your knowledge instead of being an asshole if my question is that dumb?

5. ehrwaldt kunzlich

ehrwaldt kunzlich Rock Star

Best Answer
    both of these are false positives regarding their use in the io-patcher.
    these modules might be used maliciously in other cases, but not with this crack.
    bass is for the music, dup for patching the exe... nothing to worry about.

• Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  6. DrumcodeX

DrumcodeX Platinum Record

May I ask you where you found those files?
    Are you on Mac or on PC (probably doesn't matter, but anyway...)? I'm on PC Win7 and I can't find those files in any of the Ableton related folders :dunno:

I guess if it really were a bitcoin miner everyone would notice that instantly because of very high CPU/GPU usage.

just curious, too

7. ehrwaldt kunzlich