Ableton Live 11 (Crashes, Other Problems, etc)

Discussion in 'Live' started by ArticStorm, Feb 27, 2021.

  1. Adam Ford

    Adam Ford Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2017
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    90
    Anyone so far didn't have any problems rendering big projects or freezing tracks?
     
  2. spncart

    spncart Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2020
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    50
    How to disable this on Mac/Big Sur?

    These spikes are such a joke lol, never had this before.

    My brand new shiny M1 hits max 15/20% CPU and yet I get these ridiculous spikes in the led indicator lol come on Ableton do you even beta test your shit before release?
     
  3. MRFEENIX

    MRFEENIX Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    38
    Just started to use AL11 today massive spikes 90000+% showing and only have SD3 and 2 audio tracks running lol really buggy . Compared to 20+ tracks of audio and SD3 on AL10. My laptop is old but not had any problems with quite big projects on AL10. Think ill carry on with 10 for now.. was really looking forward to using it. :(
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  4. gohu666

    gohu666 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    win 10 - Ableton live 11 crash when i choose Asio pilote :/ i can't use it
     
  5. Alpha0ne

    Alpha0ne Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    134

    It was never fixed, also not on AL 10
     
  6. Alpha0ne

    Alpha0ne Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    134

    Sorry m8. I dont know mac . I am on IBM compatible :)) win10pro PC. But I have heard that M1 has lotta problems relating to a lot of software.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2021
  7. ArticStorm

    ArticStorm Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,014
    Likes Received:
    2,651
    Location:
    AudioSexPro
    hmm you could push 10 very hard to the limit and it would still play through the arrangement, while 11 goes audio glitchy. Well lets go a few more version and see how it develops.
     
  8. Ed Jachimowicz

    Ed Jachimowicz Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2019
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    68
    Not a specific question or issue but while I was hoping that Ableton with Version 11 would have become a stable program in the meantime, it is frustrating to notice that it still crashes a lot for no apparent reason. The recovery function works most of the time so not much is lost but still.
    Coming from Version 9.7 it was a bit of getting used to new UI elements and functions but I get around like I used to.
    But those crashes..........:thumbsdown:


    PC Windows 10, 16 GB Intern Memory, SSD
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2021
  9. ArticStorm

    ArticStorm Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,014
    Likes Received:
    2,651
    Location:
    AudioSexPro
    9.7 is good of 3 years getting this major version stable, so imo it is not comparable. the situation for 10 is similar (i tend to forget that), so we need to give it a few more updates.

    I for my part have zero crashes ...
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  10. Req

    Req Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2021
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Codesign the plugins and do a rescan with option alt key and click rescan plugins
     
  11. spncart

    spncart Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2020
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    50
    Nope, M1 is working perfectly with 99.99% of the software. This Ableton cpu led display thingie has to do with Ableton itself.
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  12. spncart

    spncart Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2020
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    50
    I've had zero crash too after one month use, whereas with Live 10 I had like at least 5 crashes a month on average. Lots of improvement on this side too. I suspect Big Sur/M1 stability and speed are helping in this regard too. Intel was the shittiest and most erratic CPU ever. Good riddance.
     
  13. droplet

    droplet Rock Star

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    329
    Location:
    up up and away
    I'm keeping version 10 :yes:, but I hope:unsure: to never:dont: turn back. (I will :( only if it guarantees I don't get c-19:rofl:)
    The modulators make the difference. Modulate My Children! Modulate!:guru:
     
  14. Alpha0ne

    Alpha0ne Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    134
    Ok I found something opn Reddit that makes me think that it has to do with indexing. While u work on ur projects it's working in background and causes the spikes, but I am not sure. Will investigate more. So far ı have no CPU spikes or crashes at all.

    Forgot to say that I renamed every webconnector folder in:
    D:\Program Files\Ableton Live 11 Suite\Resources\Extensions
    D:\Program Files\Ableton Live 11 Suite\Resources\Python2

    ur install folder path could vary. So check this out. Try also using non-hdpi-mode in Live.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2021
  15. Alpha0ne

    Alpha0ne Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    134
    Problem could also be with AMD Graphiccards on PC-rigs. Maybe a new driverupdate could help dunno.
     
  16. ArticStorm

    ArticStorm Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,014
    Likes Received:
    2,651
    Location:
    AudioSexPro
    for people having problems with Max4Live stuff, the bundled Max version is 8.1.9, but their homepage has 8.1.10 to download, worth a try if this improves stability.

    https://cycling74.com/downloads

    simple install Max and link it to the folder in the ableton settings.
     
  17. ilyushachishe

    ilyushachishe Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    has anyone found a solution to the problem with the crashing of soundtoys (32 lives)?
     
  18. ArticStorm

    ArticStorm Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,014
    Likes Received:
    2,651
    Location:
    AudioSexPro
    Okay, im pretty sure GUI is not optimized. Even on 11.0.5b1, which im testing right now.

    when i close XV5080 plugin by roland for example, CPU usage is more, dunno i feel like going back to v10, there is also some other things i dont like.

    so 10.1.35 as soon as its released.
     
  19. josenacha

    josenacha Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    57
    We have
    Ableton Live Suite 11.0.2 WIN (Rutra....)
     
  20. Adam Ford

    Adam Ford Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2017
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    90
    Another fun one is having to turn off MPE every single time you load a vst that support it, it's really bugging me out...
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Ableton Live (Crashes Forum Date
Max for Live Devices not showing , Ableton Live 11.1 Live May 2, 2022
Ableton Live 11 Suite Selling / Buying Apr 30, 2022
FOR SALE: Ableton Live 10 "Standard" /Serum/Pigments Live Mar 24, 2022
Traktor and Ableton Live Link Dj Setup. DJ Mar 19, 2022
Ableton Live Performance Thread! Live Feb 2, 2022
Loading...