Ableton Illegally Accessed My Computer - Part II

Discussion in 'DAW' started by SteveFaoki'sGhostProducer, Sep 7, 2018.

  1. SteveFaoki'sGhostProducer

    SteveFaoki'sGhostProducer Newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Somehow Ableton Automatically updated me to 10.3 EVEN WHEN I HAD AUTO UPDATE UN CHECKED. It INSTALLED RANSOMEWARE TELLING ME I HAD TO PAY MONEY TO USE, WTF ?
     
  2.  
  3. LuckySevens

    LuckySevens Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    164
    Location:
    3rd planet from the fireball...
    Karma is SO funny sometimes!!!!!!
    You're complaining of "illegal" access to your computer when you're using an illegal copy of Ableton LIVE!!!! HA!!!!
    Otherwise, why would you have the updater turned off??!! And your interpretation of "ransomeware" is hilarious and epic for a hypocrite...
     
    • Like x 2
    • Dislike x 2
    • Agree x 2
    • Funny x 1
    • Love it! x 1
    • List
  4. manmane

    manmane Newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    bruh thats not rasomeware, the software processed an illegal key being used nd not registered to the official ableton site user data base, which is now notifying u that u have to pay for a proper licence for the software n since your connected to the internet it updated it on its own n when using crack software never have the internet on cause the software connects to the company sever n checks if the product has a proper key or whatever.

    if ableton did accessed your computer illegally, there probably a section on the terms nd agreement that state "ableton co. has right to access your computer to check if theirs an illegal version".. which there isnt i think idk nobody reads the terms nd agreement but if they did have a section, u pressed the "i agree" button so it an "illegal" access u gave them full permission.
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  5. TinTin

    TinTin Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    144
    just one word : bullshit !
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Creative Creative x 1
    • List
  6. LuckySevens

    LuckySevens Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    164
    Location:
    3rd planet from the fireball...
    :bleh::rofl:

    Dude... you need to delete this thread if you don't want to be laughed at by the whole world!!
    If you're THAT stupid and don't setup your firewall and a VPN or unplug your internet connection while using illegal software... well then, you get what you deserve. Don't look to blame someone else for your ignorance.

    "You left your fingerprints all over the crime scene newbie!!"

    I hope you learned a lesson here. THINK BEFORE YOU SPEAK.
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2018
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Nasty Nasty x 1
    • List
  7. Herr Durr

    Herr Durr Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    1,980
    Location:
    bora bora
    you don't think that was his intention in the first place? the "Fosterization" of AS continues apace ! :trashing:
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Winner Winner x 2
    • List
  8. noize2sound

    noize2sound Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    9
    Stop visiting Porn sites & put your Ableton in back. Apart from you could not F**k any one but some one F***ed you
     
  9. DJK

    DJK Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    110
    Location:
    felixstowe england
    lol:rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:
     
  10. Olymoon

    Olymoon Impossible is not a fact. It is an opinion. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    692
    Use a good firewall, it's the only way to truly control what happens.
     
  11. MorteKai

    MorteKai Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Anhedonia, 64 Light years away
  12. reziduchamp

    reziduchamp Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    16
    Plenty of reasons for turning off automatic updates and no good reason for keeping them on. If your music system is working the real question is why would you turn them on and risk it breaking on an update? I had Strava on my new phone until it started shutting the phone down mid-ride and became unusable. Old version on my old phone runs just fine. Splinter Cell Blacklist is broken after 1.02. Ubisoft just abandoned it so you can't play it online without it randomly shutting down your game. It auto updates to 1.03 without you asking. Keep it offline and you can play it in 1.02 and it never crashes. OSX doesn't support old software and insists that you keep updating every year so you have a choice between the new stuff or keeping things you already bought.... The list goes on...
     
  13. thantrax

    thantrax Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    2,142
    Location:
    Italy
    It's not Ableton. Are russian spies.
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  14. SquareDjay

    SquareDjay Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    160
    Location:
    France
    Nevertheless Ableton is more productive at finding illegal users than updating their "amateur" DAW.
     
    • Dislike Dislike x 1
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • List
  15. Daz

    Daz Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    42
    It wasn't Ableton that installed the ransomware it was me, and if you don't pay up you won't be using FL Studio either!
     
  16. twoheart

    twoheart Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Share many
    @SteveFaoki'sGhostProducer
    As @Olymoon said you should use a (good) firewall. Not only for the DAW but for the VST plugins as well. If you don't, the DAW AND the plugins may phone home and do things you won't like.

    You could use the Windows default firewall, it's not that bad. To better manage the Windows Firewall you could use 'Windows Firewall Control' (see sister site, or pay only a few bucks if you will). It's a tiny tool that makes the Windows firewall way more usable.
     
  17. bigboobs

    bigboobs Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    29
    * Install WFC (Windows Firewall Control)
    * Chose BLOCK program
    * Select all .exe in Ableton directory
    * DONE

    Yeah, it works since years, but you love to complain about how bad the windows firewall is.
    So, see what you get - and you get what you deserve :D
     
  18. MichaelPatterson

    MichaelPatterson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    9
    Say, guys-- I hacked someone's computer the other day because I was trying to put a virus onto it, and that bastard gave MY computer a virus! Can I sue him or something? This is outrageous!
     
  19. saltwater

    saltwater Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    341
    How does Ableton deal with piracy?
    I’m not going say it is a good thing but I also have to say this is a business that works, we have nothing to complain about, and in the grand scheme of things you can’t know exactly what piracy harms because it also has benefits. Obviously, it helps spread the program tremendously.

    Gerhard Behles Ableton CEO
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  20. noize2sound

    noize2sound Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    9
    Dude you are so Confident that you will never get ticket for speeding or even driving on wrong side. :rofl::rofl:
     
  21. Boujwa

    Boujwa Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    25
    Both Presonus Studio One and Ableton accessed my computer; they told me this computer is not allowed to run Studio one. Ableton kept saying invalid key. lol, Thank God I have Cubase Pro 9.5. I Uninstalled all of them and stay with Cubase. loll
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2018
    • Like Like x 1
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
Loading...
Similar Threads - Ableton Illegally Accessed Forum Date
Win Or Mac For Ableton? Software Saturday at 7:41 PM
Ableton Live Template - Psytrance Powerbass Our Music Sep 13, 2018
FS: Ableton Suite, Arturia V Collection, Waves Platinum Selling / Buying Sep 9, 2018
Writing Scripts for Ableton Live Aug 29, 2018
TUTORIAL - House Music con Ableton Live, Kontakt y Console 1 - Music&Dj's Center ESP Aug 28, 2018
Loading...