A single Yamaha NS-10

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by DT990PRO, Nov 20, 2023.

1. DT990PRO

DT990PRO Newbie

My friend thats a pretty good mix engineer has been recommending me to get a specific amp and a single NS-10. He knows all the specifics and has like 2 pairs and a few auratones. Currently I don't have monitors but I could get one speaker and an amp for fairly cheap to use as a mono reference speaker.

What do you guys think about this?

3. Jeffriezal

Jeffriezal Producer

NS-10 is great if matches with a really good power amp. But to just solely depend on NS-10, will not be the best set of references.. NS-10 has more critical listening for the clinical task..also NS-10 lacks low freq response which makes it hard to guess your balancing... Also take a consideration of this, a long session with NS-10 will make ur ear get tired. For me 4hr per session is my max, more than that everything seems dull to my hearing.

I have been using NS-10 for almost 20 years, and have 3 pair. And each pair sounds slightly different from the other.. so if u wanna get one pair, make sure u get a good pair. Like mine, my NS-10 match with Hafler 9505 amps.. very clear and crisp.

• Like Like x 3
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  4. anonymouse

anonymouse Platinum Record

I've been using a pair of Auratones next to my Neumann's, I love them. In essence, what you need is a speaker with no bass or treble, just a revealing balanced midrange. I'm not sure how the NS10 delivers on that, but the Auratones do great. I've paired them with a Topping PA3s.

5. clone

clone Audiosexual

what works for your friend doesn't mean it will work for you. People vehemently defend their choices in gear, and if you have been using something for 20 years; you have good reason to continue using them. I wouldn't spend the money on this idea.

6. DT990PRO

DT990PRO Newbie

Fair enough. So based on this just save up for some Genelecs or ADAM audios.

7. ItsFine

ItsFine Platinum Record