A piano library for solo piano soundtracks

Discussion in 'Software' started by garfinkle, Jan 9, 2020.

1. garfinkle

garfinkle Platinum Record

I must have tried them all. Seriously.

Some of them are adequate for specific backings, but none of them are believable as solo pianos.
    Synthogy is an overpriced joke (yes, it is - even the American D. Wish Id never bought it). Kontakt libraries are equally as terrible - yes, all of them. EZKeys and 4Front? Laughable.

Oddly, the Spectrasonics Keyscape isn't utterly vomit-inducing, but its still not there.

Who wouldn't I kill for a baby grand with midi control?

Somebody save me from this sea of shit.

• Funny Funny x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  3. Olymoon

Olymoon Moderator

I'm not a professional pianist, but the physical modelling piano of Modartt receive good critics.
    https://www.modartt.com/
    Have you tried it?

Anyways I've been lucky enough to play with grand pianos in big studios, Pleyel, Bösendorfer etc...
    and I think it's impossible to reproduce all the nuances of a real piano with a virtual one.

Last edited: Jan 10, 2020
  4. mrpsanter

mrpsanter Audiosexual

Have you tried the Embertone Walker 1955 Concert D library?

5. orbitbooster

orbitbooster Audiosexual

6. Smoove Grooves

Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

I am! For about 30 years now. Have to say, if there was just one I had to have, it would be Pianoteq by Modartt, just as you said @Olymoon.
    Nope! And you being so sure of that still won't bait me to reveal my secret weapons! lol.
    I don't believe you've searched enough.

• Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  7. garfinkle

I confess that I haven't. Two of you are voting for it so I'll remedy this. Any particular library for the Pianoteq?

Me too, and agreed. I really just want a realistic sounding library for home use.

Yes. I think it's rubbish. Sorry.