A more elegant Hackintosh solution?

Discussion in 'Mac / Hackintosh' started by quadcore64, Oct 26, 2020.

  1. quadcore64

    quadcore64 Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    406
    Good news from Salt Lake City. Enjoy!

     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2020
    • Like Like x 2
    • Disagree Disagree x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  2.  
  3. luminosity

    luminosity Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    10
    Yikes
     
  4. mrpsanter

    mrpsanter Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    729
    Mac OS in a VM...

    Already tried that in the past and it was running fairly OK (I have 32 GB of RAM).

    The problem is for audio production: Using Logic was a real PITA and I'm not even mentioning how it goes if you have an external sound card or if you want to attach a keyboard to your rig...
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  5. fiction

    fiction Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    501
    The performance part was quite interesting, thanks for posting!
     
  6. luminosity

    luminosity Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    10
    Just setup your hackintosh in the right way, then you will get the same perfomance out of it... what a clickbait...
     
  7. Daskeladden

    Daskeladden Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    331
    Edit:
    wrong thread....
     
  8. noise.maker

    noise.maker Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    117
    Is something "mormonic" there. You never get best audio performance thru VM. Not good for audio production.
     
  9. Pipotron3000

    Pipotron3000 Rock Star

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    474
    Nothing can beat native for now.
    Every millisecond lost is stacking over the previous.

    YES, you can do NON real time things (like video rendering). Like creating FinalCut "boxes".
    But ANYTHING audio real time is going to show limits.
     
  10. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    752
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    I've seen that video.....and no, it's useless for any serious work :rofl:

    and on side note, for the price of overpowered high-core-count shitload-of-ram multiple-ssds rig, you can get a cheapo desktop which will work as hackintosh just fine, and then another cheapo desktop for whatever second OS you choose, be it Windows or Linux
    :chilling:
     
  11. thomas78

    thomas78 Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2020
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    6
    the little, poor neumann mike hasnt got a cable? thats a pity... :bleh:
     
  12. quadcore64

    quadcore64 Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    406
    Notice that this post was formed as a question, not as a statement of fact so, why the dislike from luminosity or tzzsmk ?
    It seemed interesting because you are able to use all of the macOS features and, access all of you devices.
    This is why the question was put.

    Thought the idea of the Audiosex forum was to post thoughts, ask questions, get answers.

    Happy tracking!
     
  13. luminosity

    luminosity Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    10
    You dont need a VM to access all of your devices on a macOS... there are alot of ways how you can do this so thats not a good point.
    Just tell me why would you run another OS on your nativ OS in a VM? To test it? okey thats fine but to use it for work and stuff like that, thats just stupid. Maybe for a server its good.
     
  14. quadcore64

    quadcore64 Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    406
    The question of a more elegant soulution is to gather useful input from veteran VM and Hackintosh users. A lot of us with aging macOS laptops & towers are looking for stable & easily repeatable solutions other than waiting and giving an arm & a leg for the upcoming ARM based systems.

    Not all of us have the Windell (Level1Techs) ability & time to customize solutions.
     
  15. 5teezo

    5teezo Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,585
    Likes Received:
    823
    Good Luck juggling macOS inside of Linux.

    Everybody could set up a VM in a running OS. But try serious productive work for 3 months later and then talk about it.

    You know, I've been using several Hackitoshed for 7 years now. And what I don't want is using something which could run natively on my hardware by virtualizing it… what's the point?

    Far from elegant. More headaches
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  16. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    752
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    from me, it's dislike for the video, not you,
    using VM for anything audio related is mostly a big no, I wanted to emphasize that actuality,
    I always forget the way AudioSex forum handles reacts/reputation, sorry for inconvenience
    :shalom:
     
  17. quadcore64

    quadcore64 Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    406
    Thank you for that! Was not really offended. Just curious about dislike.

    Yes, Quinn, can be a little over the top like many you-tubers but, I was impressed by the idea of running macOS full-out inside of Linux in the way that was presented.

    AMD based Hackintosh from everything I have gathered so far is great for some, horrible for others.
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2020
  18. Daskeladden

    Daskeladden Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    331
    What the hell are you talking about? You need a thunderbolt 2 cable for the Quantum, but you would not understand stuff like that
     
  19. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    752
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    actually the QEMU mentioned in the video is capable of running any guest OS within host OS while capable of handling hardware passthrough - this makes it a bit tricky, since multiple graphics cards are required (obviously intergrated gpu counts as well) and the overall scheduling/provisioning of resources (cpu, ram etc..) is kind of compromise and always inferior to using OS fully on actual hardware,

    I can imagine someone maybe using a virtual server within his workstation, since virtualization offers dynamic resource allocation and backup/restore capabilities of the virtual disk, but I'm pretty sure for any realtime-critical tasks like audio, broadcasting and such, using VM is basically a no go
    :chilling:
     
Loading...
Loading...