A few questions (transitioning from crack, general advice, etc)

Discussion in 'Software' started by Ludo7777, Sep 28, 2021.

1. Ludo7777

Ludo7777 Noisemaker

I'm a hobbyist student. I've played piano for a long time but got into music production about 1~2 years ago. I can create songs (add instrument parts, arrange them, add automations and fx, etc) but I feel that I'm not improving. I know what eq, compression, reverb, saturation does but I can't utilize them and know when to use them. I think this is because I've been relying on cracks for so long, downloading and erasing stuff. Because of this, I want to start using legit stuff - I've bought a few cheap pluginboutique sale things (which I almost nevand accumulated freebies companies give out. I got komplete select because of the keyboard I bought. I'm tempted to participate in IK group buy since it does look like an offer that doesn't come regularly (and includes some stuff like modo bass which I use pretty frequently as a crack, buy first and learn how to use em gradually). However, I know that people say that learning stock plugins and feeling limitations is when I should buy stuff. Tbh I've been afraid to spend money on ableton live (what I use now) because it's a lot of cash and newer versions keep coming out. What would be the best choice for me? Hold off on group buy and just buy the DAW first? Also, how should I improve from here? Copy and remake songs? I watch youtube videos and take lessons but it feels like a professor's lecture and can't immediately apply what I learned to production. I know I sound stupid and shouldn't have encountered cracks in the first place, but I reckon a lot of experienced people might have experienced what I'm feeling and any suggestions would greatly help. Thanks a lot. I've attached my soundcloud just in case it helps answer my questions)

https://soundcloud.com/prod_cvdence

3. BEAT16

BEAT16 Audiosexual