44.1Khz vs 48 vs 96 sample rate on a project with various kontakt libraries

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by Mixtic, Feb 25, 2020.

1. Mixtic

Mixtic Guest

So, I am an amateur when it comes to mixing, and I plan on sending the stems of this project to a professional once I get everything together. Nevertheless, I still feel as if I should ask this in consideration for whoever that engineer may be. Anyways, I am working on an album that is attempting to blend synths and orchestral kontakt libraries together (As well as some live recordings I plan on getting recorded of solo violin). Upon looking at the specs of some of the kontakt libraries, I noticed that most were recorded in 48khz and 96khz quality (Spitfire Symphonic Strings, Orchestral tools Metropolis Ark 4, etc. ). I am unsure of what to do, because I do notice a difference in quality when I switch to a higher rate, but I know that 44.1k is still standard for streaming services. I have heard that if an engineer converts a 96k project to 44.1K the depth/brilliance is still maintained...but I have also heard the opposite. I should mention that I am using a multitude of software synths such as Serum, Zebra, Sublab, and Omnisphere. I am also curious as to what my bit rate should be. I have been suggested to export at 32bit due to the variety of instruments being used, but I am not hesitant to change that if I am convinced otherwise.

Thank you!

I hope my question was clear. I would be happy to try and clarify if it is not.

3. Lieglein

Lieglein Audiosexual

What does this mean?

4. Mixtic

Mixtic Guest

I can hear intricate details that were muddled before, and it seems to just be clearer altogether.

5. Jeffriezal

Jeffriezal Producer