3 Mastering Tips

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by Stevie Dude, Jan 14, 2024.

Tags:
  1. Stevie Dude

Stevie Dude Audiosexual

Hi,

Happy weekend and hope everyone is having a good time. I'm feeling generous today, so I'd like to share 3 tips for ITB Mastering, important ones that I think some, especially the new people could benefit from it or maybe could consider and implement in their workflow. I've been using them for 2 years now and while they could be subtle and figured there's a huge difference (at least to me) with or without them. Before anything :

1) I'm not a certified mastering engineer, I have around 40+ tracks I've mastered for clients that mostly independent artists and local bands so far but I wouldn't call myself a mastering engineer for few reasons. First, those tracks most of them I "have to" master because I'm just doing the favour after telling them repeatedly that I don't do mastering but these people are not really familiar with music production stages and roles for them it's all the same, so I did it for them anyway. Secondly, me personally I believe the mastering stage is more about another person that doesnt know anything about the track perspective, proper gears combined with world-class monitoring which I don't have. Others are allowed to think otherwise, it's just me and where I'm currently at my music career.

2) Is mastering your own song/track wrong ? NO! should it be a separate stage ? NO! The only right thing is the one that works for you, everything comes with PROS & CONS of course.

3) These tips are just stuff I've picked up randomly from famous superstar mastering engineers from their videos and interviews, I've tried and it works for me and I hope it could work for others. Although I don't do full final mastering, I still do fake mastering everyday for the mixes to get them up to proper listening levels for preview. Those are sent to clients and the mastering guy for reference.