2017 Retina iMac = 1 Year failed Windows Installs

Discussion in 'Mac / Hackintosh' started by NeverenoghFun, Jul 23, 2019.

  1. NeverenoghFun

    NeverenoghFun Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    Suburbs of Minnesot
    I just don't know what to do. I have tried everything possible to get bootcamp to run on my imac. Done fresh installs, clean drives, Flash drives. I do not know what I'm doing wrong.
    I desperately need a Windows partition on here.
    Is there any one on here that has had same issues in the past maybe point me in the right direction?

    or perhaps a very patient person to hold my hand through the process?

    I'm pretty good with computers so this has been really irritating as I watch releases on the sister site get post I sit, waiting, hoping one day ill get this imac to run windows.

    2017 27 Retina
    i5
    24GB Ram
    1TB Internal Fusion
    2 TB External
    Mojave 10.14.

    edited cause I'm a horrible speller.
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2019
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  2.  
  3. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2,142
    Likes Received:
    1,173
    Location:
    Europe
    I had a difficult job installing Windows in a MacBook Air but that was due to the very old one I had (late 2010).
    I ended only using the bootcamp drivers.
    I installed the ReFind boot manager and booted from a regular Windows install flash drive.

    Other two things I remember:
    - Only x64 Windows work with Macs (almost dure it's not your problem)
    - It's especially important an option when you make the Windows install thumb drive. It was related to MBR/UEFI kind of boot I think.

    Can you emulate Windows with Parallels or Wine? Only to be able to use Rufus, the best Windows thumb drive install creator hands down.
     
  4. electriclash

    electriclash Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    954
    +1
     
  5. NeverenoghFun

    NeverenoghFun Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    Suburbs of Minnesot
    I can indeed emulate in parallels and others but for what i need to do its way to cpu intensive.
    I i think it may have something to do with flash drive because it would start the process then when it went to restart it would say something along the lines of no bootable disc. Sorry im typing on phone. Anyways ive had to s of trouble sometimes its just with getting bootcamp to instal. Mac says drives are fine. She runs like a watch besides me not enjoying some windows releases. Just cant get this partition to work.

    If you have a suggested version of windows 7 to make the flash drive mind pming the name?
     
  6. r4e

    r4e Rock Star

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    488
    I don't know much about mac but if you can't get it to work but need it immedialtely, maybe you should try installing windows in a virtual machine using VMware Fusion. I'm using its equivalent "VMware Workstation" on windows to run mac os in a virtual machine for testing purposes.
     
  7. NeverenoghFun

    NeverenoghFun Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    Suburbs of Minnesot
    Not immediately just any time lol ive been trying for close to a year. But i have tried those solutions unfortunately my 24gb of ram acts like 2 inside the VMs I need processing power there fore i neeed the windows installed legit.
     
  8. jazzzz

    jazzzz Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    68
    I suspect that Fusion drive causes the problem. It seems you can only install win on a single partition drive.
    There are several threads around the internet about this issue. One possible solution is to install Windows on an external drive. If it suites you, here they explain how to do it:
    https://9to5mac.com/2017/08/31/how-windows-10-mac-boot-camp-external-drive-video/

    The other is installing without bootcamp:
    https://fgimian.github.io/blog/2016/03/12/installing-windows-10-on-a-mac-without-bootcamp/
    (This one is an amazingly well detailed tutorial, it's worth the read even for those who choose to use bootcamp)
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2019
  9. SceleJohn

    SceleJohn Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    80
    Sell your iMac and buy a pc
     
  10. NeverenoghFun

    NeverenoghFun Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    Suburbs of Minnesot
    Hush your dirty little mouth!
    i actually just converted this last year to mac and I'm very happy. If our "Sailors" over there at sister could work through mac stuff easier id be staying. But I need something I cant afford till Black friday gotta do what u gotta do I have Album suppose to be finished in 2 months haha.


    BUT
    Update.. Things are looking good SO FAR. i've been doing it all manual instead of doing it through boot camp
    Been taking longer but seems ok. I'll let you guys know

    I do in fact think that it was how i partitioned last time. Not remember FAT vs APFS (smh)
     
  11. NeverenoghFun

    NeverenoghFun Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    Suburbs of Minnesot
    You guys can smoothly run a DAW using Parallels? Im crazy jealous! You guys have Mac pro's or what?
     
  12. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Rock Star

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    410
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    nope, any sort of virtualization like Parallels or VMWare is unusable for DAW;
    what does work though (and I'm yet to explore that properly) is Vienna Ensemble Pro server plugin host run inside Parallels, accessed by main DAW run in MacOS
     
  13. NeverenoghFun

    NeverenoghFun Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    Suburbs of Minnesot
    [​IMG] I have seen the light and am on the ow brick road!
    Thanks for all the help guys

    Sorry its a mess. Got construction happening today
     
  14. jazzzz

    jazzzz Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    68
    I don't see any difference using Vienna Ensemble Pro server in Parallels. It's the same problem. Your macOS has to share its resources (RAM, CPU) with Parallels, it means to have a decent performance you need to have double the resource instead of just running things in one OS.
    VEP server is the solution if you run it on a windows pc and use VEP client plugin on the mac that is connected via Gigabit Ethernet.
     
  15. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Rock Star

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    410
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    no, because VEP doesn't use physical audio interface, doesn't need audio buffer, and virtualized network adapter is significantly faster than two physical gigabit network adapters connected together; it's a new world of efficiency according to my initial tests
     
  16. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2,142
    Likes Received:
    1,173
    Location:
    Europe
    I did install without bootcamp, but I used a very old Mac. It allowed me to install Windows in the same Mac OS partition.
    I don't know if this fusion thing is really the problem. Could be, my Mac was very old.

    Here's what I remember:
    1) Install boot manager (ReFind, unix-like). Very useful tiny piece of software.
    2) Make room with the "Disk Utility" (I think it was called that) in the main system disk, the one with Mac Os. You have to create a FAT32 partition for Windows. It doesn' wotk just leaving unformatted/unpartitioned space. Of course, this is only to help the Windows flash drive to boot, then you'll use the regular NTFS.
    3) Download the BootCamp drivers (don't use the BootCamp utility/assistant for anything)
    4) Create a thumb drive with the Windows ISO. I don't remember the details but this is hard if you don't have a Windows machine because the best Windows install soft is Rufus, windows only. On the other side, it's an extremely tiny application, resources even in a virtual machine very low.
    5) Reboot and select the Windows flash drive with ReFind

    This could be very different with such a different Mac. But I'm pretty sure ReFind is likely to be necessary. And I'm sure the BootCamp assistant has always had a lot of troubles, for some it works like a charm, for others it doesn't even recognize a flash drive...
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2019
  17. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2,142
    Likes Received:
    1,173
    Location:
    Europe
  18. jazzzz

    jazzzz Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    68
    It seems the problem started with High Sierra.
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
Loading...
Loading...